A blog from a woman on a journey of discovery.

Please leave this blog if you are under 18 or easily offended.

Saturday, 1 October 2011

Is this a scam...any other people received this in your hotmail?

From: dr_anupnath@hotmail.com
To: accountalert_rep12302@hotmail.com
Date: Fri, 30 Sep 2011 17:12:28 +0000

Windows Live Member Letter

Dear Account User,

This message is from our data base center to all free Hotmail account owners. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center. We are deleting all unused accounts to create more space for new accounts. To prevent your account from closing, you will have to update it below so we will know that it's a presently used account. To do this, You have to click on your reply button to reply back to this message and then you fill the information below.

* Name :................................
* Username :…………………..

* Password:…………………….
* Date of Birth:………………..
* Country Or Territory:……………
Play audio 

and enter the 10 numbers you hear.
Image with

 8 characters 
Enter the 8 characters you see

Warning!!! Account owner that fails to verify his/her account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

The Windows Live Hotmail Team


  1. I don't have hotmail, but it totally looks like a scam. You've got two weeks to do it anyhow, I'd contact them and ask.

  2. Well I don't have hotmail but I'm pretty sure it's a scam. Do you use this account? If so, they can tell and don't need to ask you to fill in that kind of info.

    IF they needed you to update the info there are all kinds of ways they could ask you to do it.

    You could try contacting hotmail, though they might not reply.

    Good luck.


  3. definitely a scam... no legitmate company ever asks for your username and password via email. They might tell you to login and then verify info- but never directly give that info via email or phone.


  4. SCAM.. it just screams scam.. plus who the heck is dr_anupnath@hotmail.com? Sounds like it came from India.. scam city. Ignore it!

  5. Oh yes, somehow I hadn't noticed that they asked for your password. Definitely a scam. Ignore.

  6. Yeah. Total scam. Never click on links from emails that are from companies or from friends that sound out-of-character or make no sense. If a company, just visit the website. If a friend, let them know they sent you a weird link, because they probably sent it to everyone in their address book and have some malware they need to take care of.

  7. they all said what i would have said...scam...never will they ask for your password in an email.

    hope you didn't fall for it!


  8. Thank you all....just shows what a knock can do to your confidence and self belief. I DID NOT fall for it, did not click etc ...but thanks anyway...a little dim moment

  9. My IT hubby told me to let you know that yes, he guarantees you that this is a scam. Sorry!


  10. Rules of the internet.

    If it asks for your password: scam
    If it asks for your credit card: spam
    If it asks you to confirm who you are by "clicking this link": phishing

    While common sense is rarer than rocking horse crap on the internet, learn how to read site security certificates and don't trust any site that doesn't have one.

    Work on the assumption they are out to get you, you and your little dog too.

  11. just to confirm, the above post applies to e-mail and entering personal information into any website.